3 Delicious Ways To Tackle Tofu

I don’t know how, when or where, but somewhere along the way, “tofu” became a scary word. I’ll be the first to admit that I shied away from it until this year. But once I tried it, I realized it wasn’t nearly as scary as its stigma claimed it to be, and now I can’t get enough! Here’s why:

  1. It’s an awesome source of protein — an essential for every vegetarian diet.
  2. It’s also high in calcium, low in calories, etc. I could go on.
  3. It’s a great bang for your buck, which is important to me and my sad excuse of a bank account.
  4. It’s extremely versatile and can replace meat/poultry in pretty much every recipe.

If you’re starting to warm up to the idea of tofu, I suggest trying out these three simple starter recipes:

My staples are always super firm tofu (to avoid spending tons of time pressing it dry and worrying about it crumbling to pieces), soy sauce and Sriracha. Once you have these things, you’re well on your way to falling in love with tofu, I promise!

Tofu Stir Fry

  1. Cut up your tofu to your desired size, stir to coat it with a 1/2 soy sauce, 1/2 Sriracha mixture and bake the pieces in the oven for about 10 minutes at 425 degrees, flipping halfway through.
  2. Cut up your favorite veggies and fry ’em up.
  3. Mix your tofu and veggies into some rice, and voila!

Tofu Tacos

  1. Cut up some tofu into small pieces, then fry them in a pan with a bit of olive oil. When they are light brown, they’re done.
  2. I like to mash up a Morning Star Farms Spicy Black Bean burger in a pan, but you can use black beans and corn, or whatever else you’d like!
  3. Add some feta and fresh cilantro, if that’s your thing. (Apparently some people hate cilantro. What?!)
  4. Sometimes I add rice or quinoa, too. Depends on the day.
  5. Throw it all into a tortilla! Mm, tacos.

Sriracha Soy Sauce Tofu

  1. Cut and coat the tofu exactly like you did in step one of the stir fry instructions.
  2. Also, bake the tofu the same exact way.
  3. That’s it! I love this as a snack or a side. (Feel free to add a bit more Sriracha if you want a little extra kick.)

So, what do you think? Not so scary after all, right? If you get brave enough to try tofu for the first time, Instagram your creation with #GoingGreensTofu! And as always, feel free to leave a comment on this post — I’d love to hear about your tofu adventures!

Leave a Reply

