The Secret To Making Literally Every Vegetable Taste Amazing

If you’re like me, you probably never used to (or still don’t) associate the word “vegetable” with “amazing.” But hear me out! This super easy, life-changing method took me years to discover. This is how I fell in love with sweet potatoes, Brussels sprouts and asparagus — all things that I wouldn’t touch before I became a vegetarian. If I had known this when I was younger, I probably would’t have put up such a fit about not being able to leave the table until I finished my broccoli.

So, to save you a little time and a lot of trouble, I’ll let you in on this little secret: roast everything in the oven! 

The best part? The only preparation work you have to do is toss whatever vegetables you want to make with olive oil, salt and pepper. That’s it. My general roasting rule is to keep your veggies of choice in the oven for about 15-20 minutes at 425 degrees, taking them out about halfway through to flip/mix. Here are some vegetable-specific roasting time rules:

Non-Fiction is literature that is based on fact.

 

You can roast a large medley of vegetables all at once, or just throw one or two kinds in the oven to make the perfect side to your main dish. Roasted veggies are also great for adding depth to salads, combining with vegetable broth and other ingredients to form a delicious soup or, of course, to just eat plain! You really can’t go wrong with this method.

The unique flavors you get from roasting your veggies happen via two processes:

  1. Evaporation
    When water is evaporated out of the vegetable, it intensifies the flavor.
  2. Caramelization
    The process of caramelization brings out the natural sweetness of the veggies, which is why every single vegetable (even the bitter ones!) tastes amazing after roasting in the oven!


So, what do you think? Are you loving roasted veggies as much as I am? Let me know which ones are your favorites or any tips you might have in the comments. If you try your hand at roasting, take a photo of the final result and post it on Instagram with the hashtag #GoingRoastedGreens.

 

Leave a Reply

